meditationatae

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeping Web site passwords in text files

On my Linux Box, I use the Firefox browser with a Master Password. Once I enter my Master Password, I can access all the saved passwords and user names for Web sites I visit. The Master Password is a good feature of Firefox. However, if one forgets the Master Password or if Firefox becomes broken, then all is lost.

Last week, on my Linux Box, I was able to run in a non-GUI environment, but I could not start the GUI of the GNOME Desktop. As a result, I couldn’t use Firefox. So I did a small installation of Linux CentOS 6.5 on a spare hard drive, and mounted the “old” hard drive. That way, I could access my Web passwords and usernames which I had saved in files within folders of my home directory.

Now, Firefox runs from the “new” disk, but I used the “old” disk to get the Web site passwords and user names.  Also, I choose my passwords carefully and they are generated with the help of “random” characters and edited in a text editor. Then, they are saved as a text file, typically “pass”.

There is a directory WordPress, one called Twitter, one called Yahoo and so on. Each directory has its file, typically “pass”, with the password for the respective Web site.

I find it convenient to safeguard my web site passwords both in text files, and within the Firefox browser, protected by the Firefox Master Password.

Written by meditationatae

October 20, 2014 at 10:59 am

Posted in History

